Watson to lead Nedbank Champions Challenge

by Michael Vlismas on

American Tom Watson will lead the strongest senior field ever to compete at Sun City in this year’s Nedbank Champions Challenge, which will be played during the Nedbank Golf Challenge at the Gary Player Country Club at Sun City from 29 November to 2 December.

The eight-time Major champion and one of the greatest golfers in the history of the game will be the biggest drawcard in the 54-hole Nedbank Champions Challenge.
The 63-year-old Watson is making his debut in the Nedbank Champions Challenge, and joins a field that includes 2010 tournament winner Jeff Sluman and last year’s champion Mark Calcavecchia.

“We are thrilled to have Tom join us this year. Ever since we instituted the Champions Challenge in 2010 it has added tremendous excitement to the Nedbank Golf Challenge, and each year we have managed to secure the world’s top senior golfers. To now have Tom in the field is a great endorsement of the success and popularity of this event,” said Alastair Roper, the Tournament Director of the Nedbank Golf Challenge.
The other player’s in this year’s field include Gary Player Country Club favourite Nick Price, Welshman Ian Woosnam, Germany’s Bernhard Langer, and Americans Jay Haas, Fred Funk, Jeff Sluman and Mark Calcavecchia.
This rounds off a field that has won a total of 16 Majors, a combined 349 victories worldwide, and a further 69 victories on the Champions Tour and European Senior Tour.

There are also four former world number ones in the field in Watson, Price, Woosnam and Langer, as well as a host of Ryder Cup and Presidents Cup honours.
Watson holds the most Majors in the field of eight, including five Open Championship titles the most famous of which was his epic Duel in the Sun with Jack Nicklaus at Turnberry in 1977.
Langer leads the field in terms of worldwide victories of 85, and joins Funk, Haas and Calcavecchia as winners on the Champions Tour this season.
Langer has been a revelation ever since he joined the Champions Tour, winning the Charles Schwab Cup three seasons in succession, while Haas won it twice consecutively.
“I think this is a magnificent field that is really going to enhance this year’s Nedbank Golf Challenge and bring back a lot of memories for the fans,” said Roper.

2012 Nedbank Champions Challenge field:
– Tom Watson
– Mark Calcavecchia
– Nick Price
– Ian Woosnam
– Bernhard Langer
– Jay Haas
– Fred Funk
– Jeff Sluman

One Response to Watson to lead Nedbank Champions Challenge

  1. chanel bags says:

    Of course, what a splendid website and illuminating posts, I will bookmark your site.Best Regards!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

44,354 Spam Comments Blocked so far by Spam Free Wordpress