World Number 1 Donald leads strong field for Nedbank Golf Challenge

by Golfer on


World number one Luke Donald leads strong field for Nedbank Golf Challenge

World number one, Luke Donald, leads strong field for 2011 Nedbank Golf Challenge

World number one Luke Donald heads a field including two former world number ones, three of the world’s top six players, four Major winners, eight of the current top 10 on the European Tour’s Race to Dubai rankings, as well as seven Ryder Cup and two Presidents Cup stars in this year’s Nedbank Golf Challenge at the Gary Player Country Club at Sun City from December 1-4.

Donald is the second consecutive world number one to tee it up in the annual showpiece, following Westwood’s appearance and victory in 2010. The strength of this year’s field is enhanced by another former world number one in Martin Kaymer.  “I think it speaks volumes for the status of the Nedbank Golf Challenge that for the second year in succession we have been able to secure the world’s number one golfer for our tournament,” said Alastair Roper, the Tournament Director of the Nedbank Golf Challenge.

“The fact that we also have the last three world number ones in our field in Luke Donald, Lee Westwood and Martin Kaymer makes it that much more special.”

Kaymer, winner of the 2010 PGA Championship, also leads a strong list of Major winners in the field, including 2010 US Open champion Graeme McDowell, reigning Masters champion Charl Schwartzel and current Open champion Darren Clarke.  “We have a strong list of Major winners, with Martin Kaymer, Charl Schwartzel and Graeme McDowell also at the forefront of the future of the global game. And in this group we are privileged to have the reigning Masters and Open champions in Charl and Darren Clarke,” said Roper.

Defending champion, Lee Westwood

Defending Champion, Lee Westwood

The field includes a total of seven Ryder Cup players in Westwood, Donald, Kaymer, McDowell, Clarke, Thomas Bjorn and Robert Karlsson. Schwartzel and Kim Kyung-Tae are also both in the International Team for this year’s Presidents Cup in Australia.  American Jason Dufner, who came close to a maiden Major this year when he finished second to Keegan Bradley in the PGA Championship, joins McDowell, Kaymer, Kim and Dyson as the players making their debut in this year’s Nedbank Golf Challenge.  “The fact that the Nedbank Golf Challenge still attracts the best golfers in the world after three decades reaffirms the event’s status as Africa’s Major. It is an achievement we are tremendously proud of,” said Andy Scott, Head of Group Sponsorships at Nedbank.

“I think this year’s field showcases the amazing depth in world golf at present,” added Roper. “In the current global golf climate and with the leading tournaments of the world vying strongly for the attention of the top players, I am very pleased with the field we have secured.”


2011 Nedbank Golf Challenge Field

Luke Donald (England)

Lee Westwood (England)

Martin Kaymer (Germany)

Charl Schwartzel (South Africa)

Graeme McDowell (Northern Ireland)

Kim Kyung-Tae (South Korea)

Robert Karlsson (Sweden)

Simon Dyson (England)

Thomas Bjørn (Denmark)

Anders Hansen (Denmark)

Jason Dufner (United States)

Darren Clarke (Northern Ireland)

Join the official Nedbank Golf Challenge Facebook page  or follow us on Twitter to get access to exclusive content, updates on the event as well as the chance to enter exclusive competitions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

44,434 Spam Comments Blocked so far by Spam Free Wordpress